Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left
{$article->category->title}}

New purchase: beware of inflated immat 'costs

New purchase: beware of inflated immat 'costs

Roger, a retiree from Toulouse realized that he had been "overcharged", but too late: he had already initialed the order form for his future car (in June) and made the payment (in September). Although informed (like any faithful reader of Auto Plus), he let himself be carried away by the joy of buying a new car and by the professionalism of the salesman.

Don't get "plucked" anymore!

And he ended up signing the document presented by the salesperson straight away, without asking for any discount (a must!), or information other than that on the coveted Citroën C3 Aircross. It was only once his vehicle had been delivered and the order form had finally gone through that he was concerned to see an amount of €846 opposite the “Other costs” line! Many of you are thus relieved of several hundred euros for obscure or virtual services. A common and abusive business practice, which allows sellers to make ends meet. Follow our advice so that you no longer let yourself be "fleeked" without batting an eyelid during your next acquisition. Photo credit: Adobe Stock

"Roading costs", "Additional costs", "Registration/administrative costs" or even "Provision costs": whatever the title chosen, the seller does not generally dwell on the or the lines concerned, or remain very evasive about it. And the customer, focused on the price of the car, tends to skim over this information. Problem: these “services” are invoiced at least 200 to 250 €, for a service that is at best overpriced, at worst non-existent, and in most cases optional! Let's take the case of Roger again: he was twice scammed, since he paid €536 for “starting costs” (without further details), plus €310 for “provision with fuel”. Another example: Philippe, from Charleville-Mézières (08), paid 350 € at Toyota for a “Delivery Pack”, presented as compulsory, without the slightest detail. Scandalous, because most of the services that these packages are supposed to include are already included in the price of any new vehicle. Indeed, the decree of June 28, 2000 stipulated that the selling price included "the cost of transporting the vehicle to the dealer or retailer, preparing the vehicle for the road (polishing, stripping, level control including 5 liters of fuel) and the supply and installation of a set of permanent registration plates". If it has since been repealed, you can still use it to negotiate the costs and above all you must first ask for the details of the costs charged. Firmly refuse to pay for anything that doesn't have to be, or anything that appears to be excessive ancillary expenses. The salesperson says he has no choice? Demand that he compensates by offering you an equivalent discount. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

In general, the seller makes the request for a gray card (CG) directly online. The only costs that you are then required to pay are the taxes due to the State, the main one of which is calculated according to the number of fiscal horses, and the costs of managing and sending the document to your address (4 € and 2 ,76 €). For the rest, it is not shocking to pay a maximum of €30 for the service of the online certificate request by the seller (knowing that it only takes a few minutes), as in a car center. You can also carry out the process alone, but going through a professional remains more comfortable because the official site Ants.gouv.fr still sometimes has malfunctions (Making a registration request alone is only done on the internet, the dedicated services in the prefectures and sub-prefectures having been closed on November 6, 2017).

Achat neuf: gare aux frais d'immat' gonflés à bloc

Another classic case of forced sale. Insurers require you to have your windows engraved, you are told? False (only a post-flight geolocation system is sometimes imposed to cover a sports or luxury model)! So you have a choice. This practice has less interest today, because the thugs manage to erase or falsify the engraving. By refusing this service, you save at least €150, plus an annual subscription which is generally never mentioned at the time of purchase.

If all the sellers do not claim it, it is customary to pay a 10% deposit with the order. Nothing prevents the salesperson from asking you more, but it is better to refuse. Because if the pro files for bankruptcy, or if you cancel the sale (for a reason other than late delivery or failure to obtain credit), you will lose big.

We often forget it, but the purchase order is a real contract concluded between two parties. Affixing your signature commits you to respect it (idem for the dealer). So, beware! Never sign too quickly or with your eyes closed. Afterwards, it is very difficult to go back. The withdrawal period granted by law is only 14 days, and only applies if you take financing on credit and it is stipulated on the order form, or in the case of a purchase at distance or door-to-door canvassing. So take the time to dissect this document, even if you are rushed, if the dealership is going to close, etc. Several thousand euros are at stake and it is almost impossible to negotiate after the fact, except to come across a very accommodating seller.

Related Articles

Under what conditions can you have an inflatable jacuzzi on its terrace or balcony?

Under what conditions can you have an inflatable jacuzzi on its terrace or balcony?

Find out how to remove the tartar on your dog's teeth

Find out how to remove the tartar on your dog's teeth

Grass mower a perfect lawn!

Grass mower a perfect lawn!

What are the measures in the dart game

What are the measures in the dart game

Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left
{$article->category->title}}

Achat neuf: gare aux frais d'immat' gonflés à bloc

Achat neuf: gare aux frais d'immat' gonflés à bloc

Roger, un retraité de Toulouse s’est rendu compte qu’on l’avait « surfacturé », mais trop tard : il avait déjà paraphé le bon de commande de sa future auto (en juin) et effectué le paiement (en septembre). Bien qu’averti (comme tout fidèle lecteur d’Auto Plus), il s’est laissé emporter par la joie d’acheter une nouvelle voiture et par le professionnalisme du vendeur.

Ne vous faites plus « plumer » !

Et il a fini par signer tout de go le document présenté par le commercial, sans réclamer ni remise (un passage obligé !), ni informations autres que celles sur le Citroën C3 Aircross convoité. Ce n’est qu’une fois son véhicule livré et le bon de commande enfin épluché qu’il s’est inquiété de voir en face de la ligne « Autres frais » un montant de… 846 € ! Vous êtes nombreux à vous faire ainsi délester de plusieurs centaines d’euros pour des prestations obscures ou virtuelles. Une pratique commerciale courante et abusive, qui permet aux vendeurs d’arrondir leurs fins de mois. Suivez nos conseils pour ne plus vous laisser « plumer » sans ciller lors de votre prochaine acquisition. Crédit photo : Adobe Stock

« Frais de mise à la route », « Frais annexes », « Frais d’immatriculation/administratifs » ou encore « Frais de mise à disposition » : quel que soit l’intitulé retenu, le vendeur ne s’attarde généralement pas sur la ou les lignes concernées, ou reste très évasif à ce sujet. Et le client, focalisé sur le prix de l’auto, a tendance à survoler ces infos. Problème : ces « prestations » sont facturées au minimum 200 à 250 €, pour un service au mieux surtarifé, au pire inexistant, et dans la plupart des cas facultatif ! Reprenons le cas de Roger : il a été doublement arnaqué, puisqu’il a réglé 536 € de « frais de mise à la route » (sans autre précision), plus 310 € pour « mise à disposition avec carburant ». Autre exemple : Philippe, de Charleville-Mézières (08), a payé 350 € chez Toyota pour un « Pack livraison », présenté comme obligatoire, sans le moindre détail. Scandaleux, car la plupart des prestations que ces forfaits sont censés inclure sont déjà comprises dans le tarif de tout véhicule neuf. En effet, l’arrêté du 28 juin 2000 stipulait que le prix de vente incluait « les frais de transport du véhicule jusqu’au concessionnaire ou au revendeur, la préparation à la route du véhicule (lustrage, décoconnage, contrôle des niveaux y compris 5 litres de carburant) et la fourniture et la pose d’un jeu de plaques d’immatriculation définitives ». S’il a été abrogé depuis, vous pouvez toujours vous en aider pour négocier les frais et surtout vous devez en priorité demander le détail des frais imputés. Refusez fermement de payer tout ce qui n’a pas lieu d’être ou tout ce qui semble être des dépenses annexes abusives. Le commercial dit ne pas avoir le choix ? Exigez qu’il compense en vous offrant une remise équivalente. Sinon, allez voir ailleurs.

En général, le vendeur effectue directement en ligne la demande de carte grise (CG). Les seuls frais que vous êtes alors tenu de payer sont les taxes dues à l’Etat, dont la principale est calculée selon le nombre de chevaux fiscaux, et les frais de gestion et d’envoi du document à votre adresse (4 € et 2,76 €). Pour le reste, il n’est pas choquant de régler 30 € maxi pour la prestation de demande de certificat en ligne par le vendeur (en sachant que cela ne prend que quelques minutes), comme dans un centre-auto. Vous pouvez aussi réaliser la démarche seul, mais passer par un professionnel reste plus confortable car le site officiel Ants.gouv.fr présente encore parfois des dysfonctionnements (Effectuer une demande de carte grise seul ne se fait plus que sur internet, les services dédiés dans les préfectures et sous-préfectures ayant été fermés le 6 novembre 2017).

Achat neuf: gare aux frais d'immat' gonflés à bloc

Un autre cas classique de vente forcée. Les assureurs obligent à faire graver ses vitres, vous dit-on ? Faux (seul un système de géolocalisation post-vol est parfois imposé pour couvrir un modèle sportif ou de luxe) ! Vous avez donc le choix. Cette pratique a d’ailleurs moins d’intérêt aujourd’hui, car les voyous parviennent à effacer ou à falsifier le gravage. En refusant ce service, vous économisez au moins 150€, plus un abonnement annuel qui n’est en général jamais mentionné au moment de l’achat.

Si tous les vendeurs n’en réclament pas, il est d’usage de verser 10 % d’acompte à la commande. Rien n’interdit au commercial de vous demander plus, mais mieux vaut refuser. Car si le pro dépose le bilan, ou si vous annulez la vente (pour un motif autre qu’un retard de livraison ou la non-obtention d’un crédit), vous perdrez gros.

On l’oublie souvent, mais le bon de commande est un vrai contrat conclu entre deux parties. Apposer votre signature vous engage à le respecter (idem pour le concessionnaire). Alors, gare ! Ne signez jamais trop vite ou les yeux fermés. Après, il est très difficile de revenir en arrière. Le délai de rétractation accordé par la loi n’est que de 14 jours, et ne s’applique que si vous prenez un financement à crédit et que c’est stipulé sur le bon de commande, ou dans le cas d’un achat à distance ou d’un démarchage à domicile. Prenez donc le temps de décortiquer ce document, même si l’on vous presse, si la concession va fermer, etc. Plusieurs milliers d’euros sont enjeu et il est quasi impossible de négocier après coup, sauf à tomber sur un vendeur très conciliant.

Articles Liés

Sous quelles conditions peut-on disposer un jacuzzi gonflable sur sa terrasse ou son balcon ?

Sous quelles conditions peut-on disposer un jacuzzi gonflable sur sa terrasse ou son balcon ?

Découvrez comment enlever le tartre sur les dents de votre chien

Découvrez comment enlever le tartre sur les dents de votre chien

Tondeuse à gazonUne pelouse parfaite !

Tondeuse à gazonUne pelouse parfaite !

quelles sont les mesures du jeu de fléchettes

quelles sont les mesures du jeu de fléchettes