Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left
{$article->category->title}}

In the DRC and Mali, the NGO People In Need shows the impact of donations to the Czech public

In the DRC and Mali, the NGO People In Need shows the impact of donations to the Czech public

Lucie Chlubnová, you coordinate the humanitarian program of the Czech NGO People In Need for the Democratic Republic of Congo and Mali. Before discussing your work and the actions undertaken by this Czech NGO of prime importance, I would like to come back to your background: what led you to get involved in this sector?

Lucie Chlubnova|Photo: People In Need

“I think it all started with my interest in languages ​​and travel when I was younger. After school, I took French and English lessons, I liked to travel. Later, I applied almost by chance for a bachelor's degree in Brno, at Mendel University. It was a degree in international relations but very focused on developing countries. I really loved the problem, the fact that it was multidisciplinary, with a bit of economics, history, geography... There was also a first opportunity to go into the field: I left for one or two months in South Africa. This is also how I decided to continue my studies in France, at the Institute for Development Studies at the Sorbonne, where I was able to discover the subject in great depth. It's a course that puts a lot of emphasis on both the theoretical side and the practical side, 50% lessons and 50% lessons too, but with professionals. After finishing my studies, I started working directly for People In Need in Prague. »

Between 2018 and 2020, you lived on site, in the DRC, to manage People In Need programs. You said that you had spent some time in South Africa before, but what were your first real experiences on the ground?

Afghanistan|Photo: People In Need

“I had several small experiences through internships or projects that I found myself. Previously I had worked for a small NGO, Djantoli, based in Paris: I therefore spent two months in Burkina. From there, I went with another student association to Uganda for a few months. Before starting to work on the DRC for People In Need, I assumed a support position for their projects in Mongolia and Afghanistan. I worked for two months in Afghanistan. These are my various experiences in the field before working in the Congo and directing the program there. »

When we talk about People In Need, we spontaneously think of the work of the NGO in the Caucasus, but also in Central Asia, or further south in Sri Lanka. But it is also present in Africa. Since when has the Czech NGO been present in the DRC, where exactly and what is the current situation in the region where it is located? What are its actions developed on site?

“The NGO People In Need has been present in the DRC since 2008 where all the first steps were launched with registration applications etc. Currently we are working in the east of the DRC, in the province of South Kivu, sometimes we also go to Manyama, a neighboring province. It is a rather special region, very affected by the various conflicts that have lasted for twenty years. These are conflicts of different local armed groups, of neighboring countries. All this with a complicated political situation, the presence of natural mining resources etc. We mostly run shorter, humanitarian projects focused on food security and nutrition. We work a lot in remote places, in rural areas. Which comes with a lot of challenges. Roads and infrastructure in the east are very sparse. The trips and especially the delivery of everything necessary for the realization of our project are always a challenge. »

Bukavu, South Kivu, DRC|Photo: EMMANRMS, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0

That was sort of my next question concerning the material conditions in which you worked on site… But perhaps you can give us details of the security conditions?

South Kivu, DRC|Photo: Alphah, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0

En RDC et au Mali, l’ONG People In Need montre l’impact des dons au public tchèque

“What struck me the most, like probably everyone else, was the presence of weapons, which are even sometimes in town, in the street. You can see people who aren't even necessarily soldiers, walking around with Kalashnikovs. This is also the case in some places in the countryside. When we work, we have safety rules, there are people who are in charge of surveillance, intelligence to know the situation on the spot. We decide according to that whether or not to go to such a place or at such a time. We work closely with the community. It is very important that they accept us, that the projects are carried out in collaboration with them. If there are things that are likely to happen, we are informed and we have time to leave eventually or to change places. But we don't operate in areas of open conflict, rather where there has been a lull, or in areas where people have taken refuge. »

What did you take away from this two-year experience?

Irumba Medical Center, South Kivu, DRC|Photo: Lucie Chlebnová, People In Need

“Of course, it allowed me to reflect on my priorities, to appreciate more what I have in my life, on the things that I found completely normal like walking alone at night for example. »

How do you return to your “normal” everyday life, to your usual life in Europe with the facilities that implies? Was it your choice after two years in the DRC or is it an established rule to only stay there for a certain time?

“There really aren't any rules. We take great care over our employees so that they are in good psychological condition, fit and happy with their work, because yes, there are many challenges that arise. It's individual: everyone has the possibility of staying longer or shorter. Me, it was a personal choice for my private life. But I still work for the DRC, I go back there regularly. So it's not that I was exhausted with no desire to come back. It was an enriching experience. It should also be explained that as an expatriate, you are not going to find yourself for two years in the middle of nowhere. We have offices in the capital of the province. In most cases, you conduct field visits of two, three weeks, or a month maximum. So even if there are constraints in the city, in terms of security in particular, it allows a life closer to what we know in Europe. It is also very important for us to work with our local employees who have a better ability to work with the communities on site: they know them, speak the same language, know the codes and the key people to approach. »

Medical education at the Irumba Center, South Kivu, DRC|Photo: Lucie Chlebnová, People In Need

It is important that the people concerned are directly involved...

Photo: Zawadi Izabayo, People In Need

" Absolutely. We are also working on empowering our colleagues who increasingly assume more important positions in the organization. Our goal is for there to be fewer and fewer expatriates because everything will be managed on site. We have around 100, 120 employees depending on the projects in progress, and between three and five expatriates. The mission really relies on the local employees. They are the pillars. »

People In Need is also involved in Mali where the Czech presence is not only humanitarian, since the Czech Republic officially participates in the European force Takuba, a military mission responsible for supporting the Malian army. One of the problems facing this country, in addition to poverty, are also the radical armed groups that are rampant. In which regions is the NGO involved? And what kind of missions do you carry out there?

A community garden and irrigation project, Kayes, Mali|Photo: Lucie Chlebnová, People In Need

“People In Need has just started the registration process with the Malian authorities. We have already made good progress. The project that is carried out is implemented directly in the field by the German NGO Welt Hunger Hilfe, in cooperation with People In Need in an advisory and monitoring role. It is in the Kayes region, to the west, on the border with Senegal. We make regular visits there, whether it's me for monitoring or advisers from People In Need on subjects such as agriculture or climate change. It is a three-year project that has just ended. We are negotiating a one-year extension, but it is not certain. The project is financed by the Czech Ministry of Foreign Affairs. At the start of the project, the Kayes region was not too affected by the conflict in the north, but as it spreads from the north to the center, we are also seeing new problems in this region too, with attacks. So in areas that used to be pretty safe, you're starting to see some influence from the ongoing conflict in Mali. »

Before Christmas, People In Need published videos that you made with Malians to present the concrete effects of donations that Czechs can make: this is also one of the organization's projects that runs throughout the year: the “skutečný dárek”, the “true gift”. What is it exactly?

The “real gift”, Kayes, Mali|Photo: Lucie Chlebnová, People In Need

“It's a way to show the Czech public the reality of their donations, to show them what is being done on the ground with the money they send us. The themes of 'real gifts' are suggested by staff in the field, like me when I was in Congo. We suggest what could be useful on the spot and for which we do not have funding from traditional institutional donors. So if someone contributes to the purchase of a goat, we ensure that the beneficiary receives something similar: either food for the animals, or a goat, or veterinary care. It is an opportunity for donors to choose the form of their support. We try to share testimonials from people who have received these 'real gifts' to show the impact of donations and how much it can change people's lives. In Mali, we worked a lot with goats and fish. It is accompanied by other things like trainings of all types before providing full support and ensuring sustainability. In the Congo, we have used a lot of everything related to the care and treatment of malnutrition. »

Does the reality on the ground confirm the progress of things? Are you satisfied with the way your actions bear fruit and the handover to local employees?

Mali|Photo: People In Need

“When I visited our project in Mali, I could see a great example of how things had changed. It's a resilience project: we work a lot with farmers and breeders around access to water. Dams and wells were built. In Mali, as it is an area of ​​the Sahel, there are long periods of drought and then it rains, but the rains can also lead to flooding when the ground does not absorb the water quickly enough. Hence these developments of the territory with dams for example. I visited several places where, thanks to the dams, the various existing wells were filled and the villagers came back and revived the village by planting new trees to prevent erosion. In Congo, as we are working on malnutrition, I visited hospitals and saw the condition of children when they arrived and when they left. The difference was obviously amazing. These are experiences that motivate me and allow me to see further, to give hope that things can change in the future. »

Related Articles

Under what conditions can you have an inflatable jacuzzi on its terrace or balcony?

Under what conditions can you have an inflatable jacuzzi on its terrace or balcony?

Find out how to remove the tartar on your dog's teeth

Find out how to remove the tartar on your dog's teeth

Grass mower a perfect lawn!

Grass mower a perfect lawn!

What are the measures in the dart game

What are the measures in the dart game

Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left
{$article->category->title}}

En RDC et au Mali, l’ONG People In Need montre l’impact des dons au public tchèque

En RDC et au Mali, l’ONG People In Need montre l’impact des dons au public tchèque

Lucie Chlubnová, vous coordonnez le programme humanitaire de l’ONG tchèque People In Need pour la République démocratique du Congo et le Mali. Avant d’évoquer votre travail et les actions entreprises par cette ONG tchèque de première importance, j’aimerais revenir sur votre parcours : qu’est-ce qui vous a amenée à vous engager dans ce secteur ?

Lucie Chlubnová|Photo: People In Need

« Je pense que tout a commencé par mon intérêt pour les langues et les voyages quand j’étais plus jeune. Après l’école, je prenais des cours de français et d’anglais, j’aimais bien voyager. Plus tard, j’ai postulé presque par hasard pour une licence à Brno, à l’Université Mendel. C’était une licence de relations internationales mais très axée sur les pays en développement. J’ai vraiment adoré la problématique, le fait que ce soit multidisciplinaire, avec un peu d’économie, d’histoire, de géographie… Il y a également eu une première possibilité de partir sur le terrain : je suis partie un ou deux mois en Afrique du Sud. C’est aussi comme cela que j’ai décidé de poursuivre mes études en France, à Institut d'études du développement à la Sorbonne où j’ai pu découvrir la matière très en profondeur. C’est un parcours qui met beaucoup l’accent à la fois sur le côté théorique mais aussi pratique, 50% de cours et 50% de cours également mais avec des professionnels. Une fois mes études terminées, j’ai commencé directement à travailler pour People In Need à Prague. »

Entre 2018 et 2020, vous avez vécu sur place, en RDC pour assurer la gestion des programmes de People In Need. Vous disiez que vous aviez passé un peu de temps en Afrique du Sud auparavant, mais quelles étaient vos premières vraies expériences sur le terrain ?

Afghanistan|Photo: People In Need

« J’ai eu plusieurs petites expériences à travers des stages ou des projets que j’ai trouvés moi-même. Auparavant j’avais travaillé pour une petite ONG, Djantoli, basée à Paris : j’ai donc passé deux mois au Burkina. De là, je suis partie avec une autre association d’étudiants en Ouganda quelques mois. Avant de commencer de travailler sur la RDC pour People In Need, j’ai assumé une position de soutien pour leurs projets en Mongolie et en Afghanistan. J’ai travaillé pendant deux mois en Afghanistan. Voilà mes différentes expériences de terrain avant de travailler au Congo et d’y diriger le programme. »

Quand on parle de People In Need on pense spontanément au travail de l’ONG dans le Caucase, mais aussi en Asie centrale, ou plus au sud au Sri Lanka. Mais elle est également présente en Afrique. Depuis quand l’ONG tchèque est-elle présente en RDC, où exactement et quelle est la situation actuellement dans la région où elle se trouve ? Quelles sont ses actions développées sur place ?

« L’ONG People In Need est présente en RDC depuis 2008 où toutes les premières étapes ont été lancées avec les demandes d’enregistrement etc. Actuellement nous travaillons à l’est de la RDC, dans la province du Sud-Kivu, parfois aussi on va aussi au Manyama, une province voisine. C’est une région assez particulière, très touchée par les différents conflits qui durent depuis une vingtaine d’années. Ce sont des conflits de différents groupes armés locaux, de pays voisins. Tout cela avec une situation politique compliquée, la présence de ressources minières naturelles etc. Nous menons surtout des projets humanitaires, plus courts, axés sur la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition. On travaille beaucoup dans des endroits reculés, en zone rurale. Ce qui va de pair avec beaucoup de défis. Les routes et les infrastructures dans l’est sont très rares. Les voyages et surtout l’acheminement de toute chose nécessaire à la réalisation de notre projet sont toujours un challenge. »

Bukavu, Sud-Kivu, RDC|Photo: EMMANRMS, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0

C’était un peu ma question suivante concernant les conditions matérielles dans lesquelles vous avez travaillé sur place… Mais peut-être pouvez-vous nous détailler les conditions sécuritaires ?

Sud-Kivu, RDC|Photo: Alphah, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0

En RDC et au Mali, l’ONG People In Need montre l’impact des dons au public tchèque

« Ce qui m’a marquée le plus, comme sans doute toute le monde, c’est la présence des armes qui est même parfois en ville, dans la rue. Vous pouvez voir des gens qui ne sont même pas forcément des soldats, qui se baladent avec des kalachnikovs. C’est aussi le cas dans certains endroits à la campagne. Quand on travaille, on a des règles de sécurité, il y a des gens qui sont chargés de la surveillance, du renseignement pour connaître la situation sur place. On décide en fonction de cela d’aller ou non à tel endroit ou à tel moment. On travaille en étroite collaboration avec la communauté. C’est très important que celle-ci nous accepte, que les projets soient menés en collaboration avec eux. S’il y a des choses qui risquent de se passer, on est informés et on a le temps de partir éventuellement ou de changer de lieu. Mais on n’opère pas dans des zones de conflit ouvert, plutôt là où il y a eu une accalmie, où dans des zones où les gens se sont réfugiés. »

Qu’avez-vous retiré de cette expérience de deux ans ?

Centre médical d’Irumba, Sud-Kivu, RDC|Photo: Lucie Chlebnová, People In Need

« Bien sûr, ça m’a permis de réfléchir sur mes priorités, d’apprécier davantage ce que j’ai dans ma vie, sur les choses que je trouvais tout à fait normales comme me promener seule le soir par exemple. »

Comment revient-on à sa vie « normale » de tous les jours, à sa vie habituelle en Europe avec les facilités que cela implique ? Etait-ce votre choix après deux ans en RDC ou est-ce une règle établie que de ne rester qu’un certain temps sur place ?

« Il n’y a pas vraiment de règle. On veille beaucoup sur nos employés pour qu’ils soient en bon état psychologique, en forme et contents de leur travail, car oui, il y a beaucoup de défis qui se présentent. C’est individuel : chacun a la possibilité de rester plus ou moins longtemps. Moi, c’était un choix personnel pour ma vie privée. Mais je travaille toujours pour la RDC, j’y retourne régulièrement. Donc ce n’est pas que j’aie été épuisée sans volonté d’y revenir. C’était une expérience enrichissante. Il faut expliquer aussi qu’en tant qu’expatriée, vous n’allez pas vous retrouver pendant deux ans au milieu de nulle part. On a des bureaux dans la capitale de la province. Dans la plupart des cas, vous menez des visites de terrain de deux, trois semaines, ou un mois maximum. Donc même s’il y a des contraintes dans la ville, en ce qui concerne la sécurité notamment, ça permet une vie plus proche de ce qu’on connaît en Europe. Il est également très important pour nous de travailler avec nos employés locaux qui ont une meilleure capacité de travailler avec les communautés sur place : ils les connaissent, parlent la même langue, connaissent les codes et les personnes-clés à aborder. »

Education médical au Centre d’Irumba, Sud-Kivu, RDC|Photo: Lucie Chlebnová, People In Need

C’est important que les personnes concernées soient directement impliquées…

Photo: Zawadi Izabayo, People In Need

« Tout à fait. Nous travaillons aussi sur la capacitation de nos collègues qui assument de plus en plus des positions plus importantes dans l’organisation. Notre but est qu’il y ait de moins en moins d’expatriés car tout sera géré sur place. On a environ 100, 120 employés en fonction des projets en cours, et entre trois et cinq expatriés. La mission repose vraiment sur les employés locaux. Ce sont eux les piliers. »

People In Need est aussi impliqué au Mali où la présence tchèque n’est pas seulement humanitaire d’ailleurs, puisque la Tchéquie participe officiellement à la force européenne Takuba, une mission militaire chargée d’accompagner l’armée malienne. Un des problèmes auxquels fait face ce pays, outre la pauvreté, ce sont aussi les groupes armés radicaux qui sévissent. Dans quelles régions l’ONG est-elle impliquée ? Et quels types de missions y menez-vous ?

Un projet des jardins communautaire et d’irrigation, Kayes, Mali|Photo: Lucie Chlebnová, People In Need

« People In Need vient de commencer le processus d’enregistrement auprès des autorités maliennes. On a déjà bien avancé. Le projet qui est mené est mis en œuvre directement sur le terrain par l’ONG allemande Welt Hunger Hilfe, en coopération avecPeople In Need dans un rôle de conseiller et de suivi. C’est dans la région de Kayes, à l’ouest, à la frontière avec le Sénégal. Nous y effectuons des visites régulières que ce soit moi pour le suivi ou des conseillers de People In Need sur des sujets comme l’agriculture ou le changement climatique. C’est un projet de trois ans qui vient de se terminer. On négocie une extension d’une année, mais ce n’est pas sûr.Le projet est financé par le MAE tchèque. Au début du projet, la région de Kayes n’était pas trop touchée par le conflit du nord mais comme il se propage du nord vers le centre, on observe également de nouveaux problèmes dans cette région aussi, avec des attaques. Donc dans des zones qui étaient plutôt sûres auparavant, on commence à y voir une certaine influence du conflit en cours au Mali. »

Avant Noël, People In Need a publié des vidéos que vous avez réalisées avec des Maliens pour présenter les effets concrets des dons que peuvent faire les Tchèques : c’est d’ailleurs un des projets de l’organisation qui court toute l’année : le « skutečný dárek », le « vrai cadeau ». De quoi s’agit-il exactement ?

Le « vrai cadeau », Kayes, Mali|Photo: Lucie Chlebnová, People In Need

« Il s’agit d’une façon de montrer au public tchèque la réalité de leurs dons, de leur montrer ce qui est fait sur le terrain avec l’argent qu’ils nous envoient. Les thématiques des ‘vrais cadeaux’ sont suggérées par le personnel sur le terrain, comme moi quand j’étais au Congo. On suggère ce qui pourrait être utile sur place et pour lesquels nous n’avons pas de financement de la part des bailleurs institutionnels classiques. Donc si quelqu’un contribue à l’achat d’une chèvre, on veille à ce que le bénéficiaire reçoive quelque chose d’approchant : soit de la nourriture pour les animaux, soit une chèvre justement, soit des soins vétérinaires. C’est une opportunité pour les donateurs de choisir la forme de leur soutien. Nous essayons de partager les témoignages des personnes qui ont reçu ces ‘vrais cadeaux’ pour montrer l’impact des dons et à quel point cela peut changer la vie des gens. Au Mali, on a beaucoup travaillé avec les chèvres et les poissons. C’est accompagné d’autres choses comme des formations de tous types avant de fournir une aide complète et assurer une durabilité. Au Congo, on a beaucoup utilisé tout ce qui est lié à la prise en charge et au traitement de la malnutrition. »

La réalité du terrain confirme-t-elle l’avancée des choses ? Est-ce que vous êtes satisfaite de la manière dont vos actions portent leurs fruits et du passage de relais aux employés locaux ?

Mali|Photo: People In Need

« Quand j’ai visité notre projet au Mali, j’ai pu voir un bel exemple de comment les choses avaient changé. C’est un projet de résilience : on travaille beaucoup avec les agriculteurs et les éleveurs autour de l’accès à l’eau. Des barrages et des puits ont été construits. Au Mali, comme c’est une zone du Sahel, il y a de longues périodes de sécheresse et ensuite il pleut, or les pluies peuvent aussi conduire à des inondations quand la terre n’absorbe pas l’eau assez rapidement. D’où ces aménagements du territoire avec des barrages par exemple. J’ai visité plusieurs endroits où, grâce aux barrages, les différents puits existants étaient remplis et les villageois sont revenus et ont refait vivre le village en plantant de nouveaux arbres pour éviter l’érosion. Au Congo, comme nous travaillons sur la malnutrition, j’ai visité des hôpitaux et j’ai pu voir dans quel état étaient des enfants en arrivant et en sortant. La différence était évidemment incroyable. Ce sont des expériences qui me motivent et qui permettent de voir plus loin, de donner l’espoir que les choses puissent changer à l’avenir. »

Articles Liés

Sous quelles conditions peut-on disposer un jacuzzi gonflable sur sa terrasse ou son balcon ?

Sous quelles conditions peut-on disposer un jacuzzi gonflable sur sa terrasse ou son balcon ?

Découvrez comment enlever le tartre sur les dents de votre chien

Découvrez comment enlever le tartre sur les dents de votre chien

Tondeuse à gazonUne pelouse parfaite !

Tondeuse à gazonUne pelouse parfaite !

quelles sont les mesures du jeu de fléchettes

quelles sont les mesures du jeu de fléchettes