Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left

“The Ghost King”, “They killed Oppenheimer”, “Word given”… Our reading tips

THE MORNING LIST

From the resistance of Ethiopians during the invasion of Italian troops in 1935, told by Maaza Mengiste, to the failures and reinventions of solidarity in Seine-Saint-Denis during the first confinement, the subject of an investigation by sociologist Jean-François Laé , the first books for the new school year in January widen the focus. We find there the physicist Robert Oppenheimer, one of the designers of the atomic bomb, whose fall Virginie Ollagnier traces. Thanks to Zhang Guixing's first novel, we plunge into the oppressive atmosphere of Borneo during the Second World War. And we get lost in the natural park of Quetico, in Canada, where the characters of Pete Fromm left to accomplish a last journey.

The Phantom King is the novel of a resistance that has become mythical: from the invasion of Ethiopia by Mussolini's troops in 1935, to the miraculous victory of a poorly armed people against the tanks and chemical weapons of the Italians, in 1941. In a skilful mix of documented details and Homeric references, Maaza Mengiste orchestrates scenes of combat, exactions and behind the scenes, while a choir sings of glory or carries the dramas of the protagonists.

« Le Roi fantôme », « Ils ont tué Oppenheimer », « Parole donnée »… Nos conseils de lecture

Here is the cruelty of a Fascist general; the loneliness of Emperor Haile Selassie in exile; the hope aroused by a villager named Minim (a word meaning “nothing” in Amharic); the bravery of Ethiopian women fighters. Among them, Hirut, “daughter of Getey and Fasil, born in a time of blessed harvest, beloved wife and loving mother, soldier”. An orphan, heir to her father's rifle, she leads hundreds of men into battle.

The Ghost King recounts Hirut's gesture. The warrior was the subject of Ettore, an Italian army photographer, who took pictures of her after her capture. The novel's prologue, set forty years after the events, shows her in possession of a box containing the archives of Ettore, who has settled in Addis Ababa. Will she give it back or use it to tell her version of the war? Mengiste's superb prose seems to liberate its content, passing off female soldiers, resistant villagers or collaborators, prostitutes and cooks to posterity. Gladys Marivat

Read also: Yourcenar, Vian, Capote… A test to travel through 20th century literature

Apart from Einstein, which physicist could claim to have fascinated to the point of inspiring, in addition to a host of historical and scientific works, a television series (in seven episodes on the BBC, in 1980), several television films, along -film Les Maîtres de l'ombre, by Roland Joffé (1989), an opera (Doctor Atomic, by Peter Sellars, premiered in 2005)…?

You have 70.71% of this article left to read. The following is for subscribers only.

Related Articles

10 Ways to Stay Safe When You Live Alone

10 Ways to Stay Safe When You Live Alone

How to draw a rose: our methods

How to draw a rose: our methods

How to fold and store a duvet to save space?

How to fold and store a duvet to save space?

Cucumber Cornichon: What differences?

Cucumber Cornichon: What differences?

Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left
{$article->category->title}}

« Le Roi fantôme », « Ils ont tué Oppenheimer », « Parole donnée »… Nos conseils de lecture

« Le Roi fantôme », « Ils ont tué Oppenheimer », « Parole donnée »… Nos conseils de lecture

LA LISTE DE LA MATINALE

De la résistance des Ethiopiens lors de l’invasion des troupes italiennes en 1935, racontée par Maaza Mengiste, aux échecs et réinventions de la solidarité en Seine-Saint-Denis pendant le premier confinement, objet d’une enquête du sociologue Jean-François Laé, les premiers livres de la rentrée de janvier ouvrent largement la focale. On y retrouve le physicien Robert Oppenheimer, l’un des concepteurs de la bombe atomique, dont Virginie Ollagnier retrace la chute. On y plonge, grâce au premier roman de Zhang Guixing, dans l’atmosphère oppressante de Bornéo pendant la seconde guerre mondiale. Et l’on se perd dans le parc naturel de Quetico, au Canada, où les personnages de Pete Fromm sont partis accomplir un dernier voyage.

Le Roi fantôme est le roman d’une résistance devenue mythique : de ­l’invasion de l’Ethiopie par les troupes de Mussolini, en 1935, à la victoire miraculeuse d’un peuple peu armé contre les tanks et les armes chimiques des Italiens, en 1941. Dans un savant dosage de détails documentés et de références homériques, Maaza Mengiste orchestre scènes de combats, d’exactions et d’arrière-front, tandis qu’un chœur chante la gloire ou porte les drames des protagonistes.

« Le Roi fantôme », « Ils ont tué Oppenheimer », « Parole donnée »… Nos conseils de lecture

Voici la cruauté d’un général fasciste ; la solitude de l’empereur Haïlé Sélassié en exil ; l’espoir suscité par un villageois prénommé Minim (mot qui signifie « rien » en amharique) ; la bravoure des combattantes éthiopiennes. Parmi elles, Hirut, « fille de Getey et Fasil, née en un temps de moisson bienheureuse, épouse aimée et mère aimante, soldat ». Orpheline, héritière du fusil de son père, elle mène des centaines d’hommes au combat.

Le Roi fantôme raconte la geste d’Hirut. La guerrière fut le sujet d’Ettore, un photographe de l’armée italienne, qui réalisa des clichés d’elle après sa capture. Le prologue du roman, situé quarante ans après les faits, la montre en possession d’une boîte renfermant les archives d’Ettore, qui s’est installé à Addis-Abeba. Va-t-elle la lui rendre ou s’en servir pour raconter sa version de la guerre ? La prose superbe de Mengiste semble en libérer le contenu, faisant passer soldates, villageois résistants ou collaborateurs, prostituée et cuisinière à la postérité. Gladys Marivat

Lire aussi :Yourcenar, Vian, Capote… Un test pour voyager dans la littérature du XXe siècle

Einstein mis à part, quel physicien pourrait se prévaloir d’avoir fasciné au point d’inspirer, outre une palanquée d’ouvrages historiques et scientifiques, une série télévisée (en sept épisodes sur la BBC, en 1980), plusieurs téléfilms, le long-métrage Les Maîtres de l’ombre, de Roland Joffé (1989), un opéra (Doctor Atomic, de Peter Sellars, créé en 2005)… ?

Il vous reste 70.71% de cet article à lire. La suite est réservée aux abonnés.

Articles Liés

10 façons de rester en sécurité lorsque vous vivez seul

10 façons de rester en sécurité lorsque vous vivez seul

Comment bien dessiner une rose : nos méthodes

Comment bien dessiner une rose : nos méthodes

Comment plier et ranger une couette pour gagner de la place ?

Comment plier et ranger une couette pour gagner de la place ?

Concombre-cornichon : quelles différences ?

Concombre-cornichon : quelles différences ?