Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left
{$article->category->title}}

Real estate: Who pays what when buying a home?

Real estate: Who pays what when buying a home?

Whether you are buying or selling real estate, you will inevitably have to bear various ancillary costs. The key is to determine which ones are your responsibility, in order to anticipate the amount of the envelope to be provided and not to be taken aback.

Buyer's side

The buyer logically bears very heavy costs during a real estate transaction since, in addition to the price of the property, he must pay what are unfairly called “notary fees”. In reality, these costs essentially consist of various taxes levied on behalf of the State (transfer duties, disbursements, land publication, etc.), while a small part actually goes to the notary (emoluments). The addition represents between 7 and 8% of the sale price in old real estate, against 2 to 3% if you opt for the new market.

Although this is very rare, be aware that you can make an agreement with the seller to pay the notary fees. But you will have to be very convincing, especially since the latter also bears his share of bills.

On the seller's side

Multiple costs indeed reduce the gain made during a real estate sale, without even counting the possible penalties for early repayment of the credit which was used to finance this property (limited to 3% of the capital remaining due since 1999) .

Immobilier : Qui paie quoi lors de l’achat d’un logement ?

At a minimum, the seller must pay several hundred euros to have all the mandatory diagnostics imposed by law carried out. Similarly, if the accommodation is located in a condominium, it will be necessary to provide the notary with a "dated statement" summarizing all the charges related to this lot and the amount of which has been capped at 380 euros since 2020.

Moreover, if you use a real estate agency, it will in principle be up to you to pay their fees (between 4 and 8% of the sale price). That said, nothing prevents you from agreeing with the buyer for half and half support. In all cases, the agency's mandate must clearly indicate who is responsible for paying the commission.

In practice, owners are often tempted to overestimate the value of their property to compensate for the cost of the intermediary's commission. A strategy with lower costs but which presents the risk of lengthening the transfer times by discouraging potential buyers and increasing price negotiations.

A pro rata distribution

Owning a property necessarily entails a certain number of annual costs. In the event of a sale during the year, it is then customary for the buyer to bear part of these costs. But be careful to negotiate it with the other party from the start.

On the local tax side, the housing tax and the property tax can thus be the subject of a “pro rata temporis” clause, specified from the compromise and reaffirmed in the authentic deed of sale. It then means that everyone assumes these costs according to the time spent in the accommodation during the year concerned. In the event of a co-ownership, it is in principle up to the seller and current owner to assume the costs of the trustee's last call for funds. Nevertheless, a pro rata distribution can, here again, be agreed with the buyer.

EconomyHousing: How to detect a water leak?EconomyWhy you have to have impeccable driving just before applying for a mortgage

Related Articles

Under what conditions can you have an inflatable jacuzzi on its terrace or balcony?

Under what conditions can you have an inflatable jacuzzi on its terrace or balcony?

Find out how to remove the tartar on your dog's teeth

Find out how to remove the tartar on your dog's teeth

Grass mower a perfect lawn!

Grass mower a perfect lawn!

What are the measures in the dart game

What are the measures in the dart game

Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left
{$article->category->title}}

Immobilier : Qui paie quoi lors de l’achat d’un logement ?

Immobilier : Qui paie quoi lors de l’achat d’un logement ?

Que vous soyez acheteur ou vendeur d'un bien immobilier, vous allez forcément devoir supporter divers frais annexes. Le tout est de déterminer lesquels vous incombent, afin d'anticiper le montant de l'enveloppe à prévoir et de ne pas se retrouver pris de court.

Du côté de l'acheteur

L'acheteur supporte logiquement des frais très lourds lors d'une transaction immobilière puisque, outre le prix du bien, il doit régler ce qu'on appelle injustement les « frais de notaire ». Ces coûts consistent en réalité essentiellement en des taxes diverses prélevées pour le compte de l'État (droits de mutation, débours, publication foncière…), tandis qu'une petite partie revient effectivement au notaire (émoluments). L'addition représente entre 7 et 8 % du prix de vente dans l'immobilier ancien, contre 2 à 3 % si vous optez pour le marché du neuf.

Bien que ce soit très rare, sachez que vous pouvez passer un accord avec le vendeur pour qu'il prenne les frais de notaire à sa charge. Mais il va falloir être très convaincant, d'autant que ce dernier supporte lui aussi son lot de factures.

Du côté du vendeur

De multiples coûts viennent en effet diminuer le gain réalisé lors d'une vente immobilière, et ce, sans même compter les éventuelles pénalités de remboursement anticipé du crédit qui a servi à financer ce bien (limitées à 3 % du capital restant dû depuis 1999).

Immobilier : Qui paie quoi lors de l’achat d’un logement ?

A minima, le vendeur doit débourser plusieurs centaines d'euros pour faire réaliser l'ensemble des diagnostics obligatoires imposés par la loi. De même, si le logement se situe dans une copropriété, il faudra fournir au notaire un « état daté » récapitulant l'ensemble des charges liées à ce lot et dont le montant est plafonné à 380 euros depuis 2020.

Plus encore, si vous faites appel à une agence immobilière, ce sera en principe à vous de régler ses honoraires (compris entre 4 et 8 % du prix de cession). Ceci dit, rien ne vous empêche de vous mettre d'accord avec l'acquéreur pour une prise en charge moitié-moitié. Dans tous les cas, le mandat de l'agence doit indiquer clairement à qui incombe le paiement de la commission.

En pratique, les propriétaires sont souvent tentés de surestimer la valeur de leur bien pour compenser le coût de la commission d'intermédiaire. Une stratégie à moindres frais mais qui présente le risque d'allonger les délais de cession en décourageant les acheteurs potentiels et en augmentant les négociations de tarif.

Une répartition au prorata

La possession d'un bien entraîne nécessairement un certain nombre de frais annuels. En cas de vente en cours d'année, il est alors d'usage que l'acheteur prenne en charge en partie ces coûts. Mais attention à bien le négocier avec l'autre partie dès le départ.

Côté impôts locaux, la taxe d'habitation et la taxe foncière peuvent ainsi faire l'objet d'une clause « prorata temporis », spécifiée dès le compromis et réaffirmée dans l'acte authentique de vente. Elle signifie alors que chacun assume ces coûts en fonction du temps passé dans le logement au cours de l'année concernée. Dans l'hypothèse d'une copropriété, c'est en principe au vendeur et actuel propriétaire d'assumer les frais du dernier appel de fonds du syndic. Néanmoins, une répartition au prorata peut, là encore, être convenue avec l'acheteur.

ÉconomieLogement : Comment détecter une fuite d'eau ?ÉconomiePourquoi il faut avoir une conduite irréprochable juste avant de demander un crédit immobilier

Articles Liés

Sous quelles conditions peut-on disposer un jacuzzi gonflable sur sa terrasse ou son balcon ?

Sous quelles conditions peut-on disposer un jacuzzi gonflable sur sa terrasse ou son balcon ?

Découvrez comment enlever le tartre sur les dents de votre chien

Découvrez comment enlever le tartre sur les dents de votre chien

Tondeuse à gazonUne pelouse parfaite !

Tondeuse à gazonUne pelouse parfaite !

quelles sont les mesures du jeu de fléchettes

quelles sont les mesures du jeu de fléchettes