Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left
{$article->category->title}}

At the Châteaudun detention center: reintegration to "avoid the detainee, alone in the parking lot, after ten years in prison"

At the Châteaudun detention center: reintegration to "avoid the detainee, alone in the parking lot, after ten years in prison"

The closed educational center of Dreux on the way to reopening in 2022

It's late morning in Châteaudun and the prison counselor for integration and probation (CPIP) is on duty for new arrivals. She must meet two detainees, transferred two days before. “If they have passed the medical examination. In the prison environment, you have to coordinate with the other services, ”warns the adviser. Suitcase on wheels overflowing with files, walkie-talkie in her pocket, Claire Stéfani settles in a small room with lilac walls, in building D. The first inmate comes from the Tours remand center (Indre-et-Loire) .

A first interview to get to know the detainee

"We don't know each other yet, but it's essential for the substantive work," said the CPIP. Prison history, criminal record, social investigation, professional situation outside detention, in a few tens of minutes, Claire Stéfani goes through the prisoner's file and quickly finds herself confronted with a first difficulty: the residence permit of the 29-year-old man. , is expired. “An obstacle for all the other steps, such as the request for adjustment of sentence that he wants to formulate”, notes the adviser, who assures the detainee that she will follow the procedure.

At the Châteaudun detention center, Claire Stéfani sometimes ensures the SPIP's permanence for new arrivals.

This first meeting with the detainees, upon their arrival in Châteaudun, is the starting point for support by one of the fifteen CPIPs in the detention centre. From one adviser to another, everyone has their own method. “I try to see them every month and a half,” explains Claire Stéfani:

“We are working on their release within two or three years. No longer. And over shorter periods, we don't have time to work on the bond with the inmate. »

Claire Stefani (penitentiary counselor for integration and probation at the Châteaudun detention center)

The human in the frame

For this lawyer, who first worked for a recruitment firm, it was "both the human side of reintegration and the framework of the sentence" that attracted her to the job of prison counselor for integration and probation.

“Our job is to fight recidivism. This involves a reintegration project. We absolutely want to avoid the prisoner, alone with his suitcase in the parking lot, after ten years in prison, because we know that he will have two out of three chances of reoffending. »

Claire Stefani (penitentiary counselor for integration and probation at the Châteaudun detention center)

The counselor works with the detainee on the meaning of the sanction and its possible adjustment, in conjunction with the sentence enforcement judge. She activates all the levers to allow him to take advantage of this incarceration: “We try to understand his life course, when he left the frame. The goal is to individualize the course of the prisoner and the execution of the sentence. »

Prison closed for an inmate from Châteaudun prison who hit and threatened a supervisor

Before concluding his half-hour interview with the detainee from Tours, Claire Stéfani suggests that he call his companion “to keep her informed”. She then confides: “First, it humanizes my function and then it allows me to know if she can be a support for him. »

A new dynamic with violent inmates

Claire Stéfani follows 45 prisoners, including 11 from the unit for violent prisoners (UDV). That afternoon, she talks with Bruno, one of the UDV speakers, before he leads his individual artistic expression workshops. The opening of the unit, in June 2019, breathed “a new dynamic” into the work of CPIP by Claire Stéfani: “The UDV opened up a wider field of action for me and brought a multidisciplinary approach. »

Claire Stéfani, in her office, receives Bruno, involved in drawing.

Because the Spip is not only concerned with the reintegration of detainees, but also with their access to the law, to culture, to civic life during elections or even partnerships with external stakeholders.

As far as UDV prisoners are concerned, Spip advisers are in charge of planning weekly workshops: management of emotions, stress management, animal mediation and artistic expression. With only one regret for the CPIP: “When the detainees leave the UDV, we don't know where they are going and neither do they. »

Immersed in the new arrivals area of ​​the Orléans-Saran prison center

Art for violent inmates

That day, A., ten years in prison, takes part in Bruno's workshop. "It's the mitard who made me draw," says the man, whose pencil stroke amazes Bruno. The speaker guides him out of his artistic comfort zone. “Your thing is borderline therapy,” says A., amused. "It's completely therapy," adds Bruno. Outside the cell, he specifies: “It is an opportunity for discussion. We work on their personality, their thoughts. Each session is reported, in writing, to Claire Stéfani, by each of the speakers.

Bruno, intervening in a unit for violent detainees, shares a moment of drawing with A.

A large part of the work of the CPIP consists of writing reports on each detainee that it follows: “We are in contact with the sentence enforcement judge, who relies on our writings to make his decisions. An essential link between detention and life after.

Eleven places for violent inmates.

Opened in June 2019 at the Châteaudun detention center, the unit for violent detainees (UDV) is the only one in the Centre-Val de Loire region and one of the largest in France. It has eleven places, reserved for detainees who have already committed a violent act in detention or who present a risk of violence. The placement in UDV lasts a minimum of six months and must not exceed nine months. This stay in quasi-isolation must bring a time of introspection to the inmate, to enable him to initiate a change in behavior. To support him, the Penitentiary Integration and Probation Service (Spip) organizes very regular interviews with the prisoner, who also benefits from weekly workshops to manage stress and emotions, through, in particular, art or animal mediation. Twenty-two detainees have already been through the Châteaudun UDV since it opened.

A unit for violent detainees will open at the Châteaudun detention center

Marion Berard marion.berard@centrefrance.com

Related Articles

10 Ways to Stay Safe When You Live Alone

10 Ways to Stay Safe When You Live Alone

How to draw a rose: our methods

How to draw a rose: our methods

How to fold and store a duvet to save space?

How to fold and store a duvet to save space?

Cucumber Cornichon: What differences?

Cucumber Cornichon: What differences?

Grand opening, up to 15% off all items. Only 3 days left
{$article->category->title}}

Au centre de détention de Châteaudun : réinsérer pour "éviter le détenu, seul sur le parking, après dix ans de prison"

Au centre de détention de Châteaudun : réinsérer pour "éviter le détenu, seul sur le parking, après dix ans de prison"

Le centre éducatif fermé de Dreux sur le chemin d'une rouverture en 2022

C’est la fin de la matinée à Châteaudun et la conseillère pénitentiaire d’insertion et de probation (CPIP) assure la permanence pour les nouveaux arrivants. Elle doit rencontrer deux détenus, transférés l’avant-veille. « S’ils ont passé la visite médicale. Dans le milieu carcéral, il faut se coordonner avec les autres services », prévient la conseillère. Valise à roulettes débordant de dossiers, talkie-walkie dans la poche, Claire Stéfani s’installe dans une petite salle aux murs lilas, du bâtiment D. Le premier détenu vient de la maison d’arrêt de Tours (Indre-et-Loire).

Un premier entretien pour connaître le détenu

« On ne se connaît pas encore, mais c’est essentiel au travail de fond », souligne la CPIP. Parcours carcéral, casier judiciaire, enquête sociale, situation professionnelle hors détention, en quelques dizaines de minutes, Claire Stéfani épluche le dossier du détenu et se retrouve vite confrontée à une première difficulté : la carte de séjour de l’homme, âgé de 29 ans, est périmée. « Un obstacle pour toutes les autres démarches, comme la demande d’aménagement de peine qu’il veut formuler », constate la conseillère, qui assure au détenu qu’elle suivra la procédure.

Au centre de détention de Châteaudun, Claire Stéfani assure parfois la permanence du SPIP pour les nouveaux arrivants.

Cette première rencontre avec les détenus, à leur arrivée à Châteaudun, est le point de départ d’un accompagnement par l’un des quinze CPIP du centre de détention. D’un conseiller à l’autre, chacun a sa méthode. « J’essaie de les voir tous les mois et demi », explique Claire Stéfani :

« On travaille sur leur sortie à l’horizon de deux ou trois ans. Pas plus longtemps. Et sur des périodes plus courtes, nous n’avons pas le temps de travailler le lien avec le détenu. »

Claire Stefani (conseillère pénitentiaire d'insertion et de probation au centre de détention de Châteaudun)

L’humain dans le cadre

Pour cette juriste, d’abord passée par un cabinet de recrutement, c’est « à la fois le côté humain de la réinsertion et le cadre de la peine » qui l’ont attirée vers le métier de conseillère pénitentiaire d’insertion et de probation.

« Notre travail, c’est la lutte contre la récidive. Cela passe par un projet de réinsertion. On veut absolument éviter le détenu, seul avec sa valise sur le parking, après dix ans de prison, parce qu’on sait qu’il aura deux chances sur trois de récidiver. »

Claire Stefani (conseillère pénitentiaire d'insertion et de probation au centre de détention de Châteaudun)

La conseillère travaille avec le détenu sur le sens de la sanction et son éventuel aménagement, en lien avec le juge d’application des peines. Elle actionne tous les leviers pour lui permettre de tirer parti de cette incarcération : « On cherche à comprendre son parcours de vie, à quel moment il est sorti du cadre. Le but est d’individualiser le parcours du détenu et l’exécution de la peine. »

Prison ferme pour un détenu de la prison de Châteaudun qui a frappé et menacé une surveillante

Avant de conclure son entretien d’une demi-heure avec le détenu de Tours, Claire Stéfani lui propose d’appeler sa compagne « pour la tenir au courant ». Elle confie ensuite : « D’abord, ça humanise ma fonction et puis ça me permet de savoir si elle peut être un appui pour lui. »

Une nouvelle dynamique avec les détenus violents

Claire Stéfani suit 45 prisonniers, dont les 11 de l’unité pour détenus violents (UDV). Cet après-midi-là, elle s’entretient avec Bruno, l’un des intervenants en UDV, avant qu’il n’anime ses ateliers individuels d’expression artistique. L’ouverture de l’unité, en juin 2019, a insufflé « une nouvelle dynamique » au travail de CPIP de Claire Stéfani : « L’UDV m’a ouvert un champ d’action plus large et apporté une pluridisciplinarité. »

Claire Stéfani, dans son bureau, reçoit Bruno, intervenant en dessin.

Car le Spip ne s’occupe pas que de la réinsertion des détenus, mais aussi de leur accès au droit, à la culture, à la vie citoyenne lors d’élections ou encore des partenariats avec des intervenants extérieurs.

En ce qui concerne les détenus en UDV, les conseillers du Spip sont en charge du planning des ateliers hebdomadaires : gestion des émotions, gestion du stress, médiation animale et expression artistique. Avec un seul regret pour la CPIP : « Quand les détenus sortent de l’UDV, on ne sait pas où ils vont et eux non plus. »

En immersion dans le quartier arrivants du centre pénitentiaire d'Orléans-Saran

De l'art pour les détenus violents

Ce jour-là, A., dix ans de détention, participe à l’atelier de Bruno. « C’est le mitard qui m’a fait dessiner », affirme l’homme, dont le coup de crayon stupéfie Bruno. L’intervenant le guide hors de sa zone de confort artistique. « C’est limite de la thérapie ton truc », lance A., amusé. « C’est complètement de la thérapie », renchérit Bruno. Hors cellule, il précise : « C’est l’occasion d’échanges. On travaille sur leur personnalité, leurs pensées. » Chaque séance est rapportée, par écrit, à Claire Stéfani, par chacun des intervenants.

Bruno, intervenant en unité pour détenus violents, partage un moment de dessin avec A.

Une grande partie du travail de la CPIP consiste à rédiger des rapports sur chaque détenu qu’elle suit : « Nous sommes en lien avec le juge d’application des peines, qui s’appuie sur nos écrits pour rendre ses décisions. » Un lien essentiel entre la détention et la vie d’après.

Onze places pour les détenus violents.

Ouverte en juin 2019 au centre de détention de Châteaudun, l’unité pour détenus violents (UDV) est la seule de la région Centre-Val de Loire et l’une des plus grandes de France. Elle compte onze places, réservées aux détenus qui ont déjà commis un acte violent en détention ou qui présentent un risque de violence. Le placement en UDV dure six mois minimum et ne doit pas dépasser neuf mois. Ce séjour en quasi-isolement doit amener un temps d’introspection au détenu, pour lui permettre d’enclencher un changement de comportement. Pour l’accompagner, le Service pénitentiaire d’insertion et de probation (Spip) organise des entretiens très réguliers avec le détenu, qui bénéficie également d’ateliers hebdomadaires pour gérer le stress et les émotions, par le biais, notamment, de l’art ou de la médiation animale. Vingt-deux détenus sont déjà passés par l’UDV de Châteaudun depuis son ouverture.

Une unité pour détenus violents va ouvrir au centre de détention de Châteaudun

Marion Bérard marion.berard@centrefrance.com

Articles Liés

10 façons de rester en sécurité lorsque vous vivez seul

10 façons de rester en sécurité lorsque vous vivez seul

Comment bien dessiner une rose : nos méthodes

Comment bien dessiner une rose : nos méthodes

Comment plier et ranger une couette pour gagner de la place ?

Comment plier et ranger une couette pour gagner de la place ?

Concombre-cornichon : quelles différences ?

Concombre-cornichon : quelles différences ?